PDA

View Full Version : 77 Newell Repower?

rellick
12-22-2012, 03:45 AM
Hello, its great to see there is a few of these classic coaches still on the road. I am just starting to dive into mine and making plans on what to do with it as far as powertrain, the rest it pretty decent, a few glitches with electrical and a few other things. I have only owned it for a week, drove it home about 500 miles and it worked suprisingly well for its age. The engine is a 555 cummins with about 190,000 miles, I have heard mixed reviews on these engines. I am going to cut apart the oil filter on it and take a look for any filings and take an oil sample in for analysis just to see if I should spend any money on it (injectors, tune up etc.) my mechanic buddies figure if the oil and filter checks out I should just run it,or should I just repower it with a newer engine. I was thinking an 8.3 cummins. I am a welder and machinist by trade so any bracketry or mods shouldnt be too much trouble. Any thoughts or opinions on witch way to go with this?

Neweller
12-22-2012, 04:27 AM
Keith, I have been involved in a repower on a '76 Newell that originally had 555 and it was not all that hard to convert. I made mounting brackets and moved the radiator to the side bay. I had help from a couple of other guys whom hotrod a lot of newer Cummins engines. I considered the 8.3 Cummins, they came in a lot of school buses and could be made to work. They are a great engine. Transmission usually reguire changes in the process to match the right gearing and torque requirements. The tripple nickle is an okay engine, just under powered and that is why the 903 is the easiest change over. The blocks are pretty much the same. The 903 with turbo is real equivalent in power to the 6v92T. I do know where their is a lower mileage (375hp+) 6v92T DD Silver Series with Allison 5 speed for sale, if ever of interest?