PDA

View Full Version : 12V Light Fixture not Working

Cheri Smith
02-23-2013, 04:14 PM
Has any one out there had a light fixture that suddenly stopped working? We have a fixture that is about 12 in. long and it has 2 florescent tubes in it about 10 in. long. It works on 12 v. power. Today when turned on, nothing at all happens. The tubes look good and are fairly new. It's just completely dead. All the other lights work fine. My question, is there a starter or some small part that went bad? Or, do I need to get a whole new fixture. If any one knows anything that may help, please advise. I'm not an electrician but can do some of the minor type repairs. Thanks for any help given.

MrE
02-23-2013, 04:24 PM
Sounds like the ballast went bad. PM me your address and I'll send you a couple, or you can replace the fluorescent lights with a LED strip and use a lot less juice.

hi all,

i spent all of last week replacing ALL of my flourescents and downlights and closet lights.

i have 14 ceiling flourescents (10 12" and 4 18") and 6 of the 4' and one 2'. and 11 downlights.

when i get a chance i will post pictures. the light inside is amazing and the total power savings averages out to about 75 percent.

i used a combination of strip led's.

1. 5050 with 60 led per meter i paid 30 bucks per 16 foot strip

2. 3528 with 60 led per meter i paid 10 bucks per 16 foot strip

3. 5050 RGB with 30 led per meter i paid 20 bucks per 16 foot strip

i took the entire fixture out of the bus. then i stripped all the guts out. then i used aluminum tape and lined the inside of the fixture to made a reflector.

for the front ceiling flourescents i used a strip of 3528 on each SIDE of the fixture. darlene didnt want to see the led's.

for the ones where you couldnt really see them well (under things) i used a single 5050 in the center pointed down. it draws about 400ma for a 12" strip. the 3528 draws 150ma per 12" strip so 300ma per fixture.