How to find air leaks in the supply system - Luxury Coach Lifestyles
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-11-2010, 01:22 AM   #1
Ron Skeen

Default How to find air leaks in the supply system

I need help in how to find leaks in the air supply system. I have been hunting leaks for the last 5 years. Are there any drawings to show how the air is plumbed in a 96? What tanks supply what components? Are there distrubution block for different areas? Any other plan of attack? I have sprayed with soap and water on all joints, fittings, and lines. Both tanks on the brake system maintain pressure for days. Any suggestion would be appreciated. Thanks

1996 Newell 45' #422
2004 Newell 45'8" #689
60 Series Detriot
Yellow Dodge Truck
Ron Skeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 05:14 AM   #2
Wally Arntzen

Check all of your air switches, preasure control valves, air pistons that operate doors. generator compartment, etc. If you have air operated wipers check the wiper air switches and the motors. Spray all of the tanks at the weld joints and look for cracks in the joints. I had problems in all of these areas and have an air tight system for over two years now. It is possible to have a failed line but I think that is rare. All of my leaks were in check valves, switches, preasure valves and air tank welds.
I replaced every check valve, air switches, control valves, wiper switches and motors and two large tanks and one small tank for the toilet.
Living in the coach full time my 110 air pump goes on an average of twice in 24 hours with two of use the air operated tiolet.

1988 Newell Coach #163
40' with tag 8V92
Wally Arntzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 06:24 PM   #3
Ron Skeen