Questions from a Newbie - Luxury Coach Lifestyles
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2013, 08:47 PM   #1
Geckos

Default Questions from a Newbie

I'm almost ready to buy my first luxury motorhome, prevost or newell, Whatever fits my budget. I'm hoping to buy within the next 4-5 months and I'm planning to move from NY to FL and live in the motorhome for at least 3 months. I drive a ton (going solo cross country at least once a year & driving to FL 3 or 4 times a year) but always in a car.

I don't have deep pockets either, my budget is about $35,000. I am not mechanically inclined at all, so any breakdown would require a mechanic.

When looking at used prevosts or newell motorhomes, any hints about what I should look for that will clue me in on a bigger problem?

I'm a good driver in cars, but I don't know how good I would be backing up a 40+ foot bus.

I teach online, so internet access is a must.

I am thinking I will be dry docking at least 50% of the time, so a good generator/inverter is a must.

For security, I've seen the cameras that are used for backing up, but is it possible to convert them so I can use them as security cameras at night?

I appreciate any help or advice given. I'm sort of lost in all of this and I don't have anyone who can advise me.

Richard

almost ready to buy
Geckos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 11:23 PM   #2
77newell