Battery Disconnect When Connected to 50 Amp Shore Power - Luxury Coach Lifestyles
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-26-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
Scott Whitney

Default Battery Disconnect When Connected to 50 Amp Shore Power

Question: I store my Newell in a shop and always plugged into 50 amp service. Sometimes I keep the thermostat set for the ac just to control the climate inside the mh. Should I enable the battery disconnect between the chassis and motor batteries during the time it's in the shop? Please advise and explain so I may understand...(I'm not an electrician) Thanks in advance!

Scott

1985 Newell Motorhome
Scott Whitney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 09:22 PM   #2
Newell Attack

We keep ours plugged in all the time. Anyway, keeping your batteries charged is a good thing.

Jeff

Jeff & Leann Shackly
Newell Attack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:48 PM   #3
Chester B. Stone, Jr.

I agree with Jeff, keep the batteries connected.
2001 Newell #579
tow a 2011 Honda Odyssey
1935 Mercedes 500K replica
Chester B. Stone, Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:03 PM   #4
77newell

Batteries have an internal natural discharge rate. If you leave any battery isolated long enough it will discharge to the point of losing the ability to recharge to the rated capacity. It takes a rather long time for a new battery to do this but as batteries age this time tends to shorten. You could choose to connect the batteries once a week or every two weeks for a day, but that is a bother when the energy savings are so small I doubt you could find them on your electric bill.

everything I know just ain't so
2007 civic toad
77newell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:41 PM   #5
lbrachfe

leave them on and let the invertor/charger manage them for you
lbrachfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:47 AM   #6
NewellCrazy