PDA

View Full Version : On My Way

chockwald
04-10-2009, 04:49 AM
Left Ontario at around 2:30pm, and arrived Las Vegas, NV around 7:30pm...staying at the Circus-Circus KOA right on the strip. They have about a dozen Airstream trailers here for rent....pretty cool. I'm pulling a 29' car trailer with our 2002 T-Bird, and Cannondale bikes...took them a while to find a pull through long enough for my 65' rig, and I barely fit.

The drive was uneventful, for which I am extremely grateful! This is my first time pulling something this heavy, and long with the Newell. I pulled El Cajon pass around 45-50mph. The Prodigy brake controller has worked flawlessly. Elaine will be done with her week long company meeting tomorrow morning (she's been here since Monday), and we'll head south to Kingman, AZ and pick up I-40 and head east to Miami, OK. Weather is nice and cool, which is great for the 6V92!

prarieschooner
04-10-2009, 02:47 PM
Glad to hear that the 1st leg of the trip was uneventful! How does the Coach handle that long, long, long trailer? The 'bird looks good behind the bikes.
I will check my notes later today to identify the wire color for the brake signal.

chockwald
04-11-2009, 03:15 AM
Arrived in Kingman, AZ around 4pm and checked in at Zuni RV Park.....BBQ'd some New York steaks....sitting here listening to a little Frank Sinatra on XM radio's "High Standards" whilst composing this update....I was concerned with pulling the big trailer with all the extra weight, but the 6V92 pulls like a champ up the 6% grades. Picture was taken at Zuni RV Park in Kingman, AZ. This is the market we got the New Yorks at. Got a longer day tomorrow...we'll head to Gallup, NM...about 350 miles.....

Richard and Rhonda
04-11-2009, 11:44 AM
Glad the trip is good so far, keep the post coming.

chockwald
04-12-2009, 12:26 AM