PDA

View Full Version : Is it true that your motorhome must be level for the fridge to work?

Derek Knight
10-13-2012, 12:17 AM
Probably a total newb question, but I heard somewhere that your RV must be level for the refrigerator to work properly. Is this true with a Newell coach or does this fit more towards RVs like travel trailers?

fulltiming
10-13-2012, 03:09 AM
I always try to level the coach as much as possible but I have been significantly out of level and my propane/electric refrigerator has continued to work. I would not want to have it dramatically out of level for weeks at a time while running the refrigerator but for a short period it isn't going to be the end of the world.

Neweller
10-13-2012, 03:21 AM
I have had this issue a couple of times. In fact when I had a slow leak at the connection on my right rear air bag in a prior Newell, when it got to its lowest point the

fridge would quit working. This was a fairly new Norcold. This was on an older Newell and I did not have a way to balance the coach other than driving up on block or

digging out under a tire. But a few degrees tilt and there can be a problem. And sometimes like I think Michael was referring above that longer periods of sitting at a tilt

can be more of an issue then say an overnight stay or two.

Gone Busing
10-13-2012, 02:25 PM
I believe it is more than 3 degrees tilt. After that it will start causing a problem

prairieschooner
10-13-2012, 05:08 PM
Just try to keep in mind that the Ammonia needs to be circulated using the small flame. I found this and it may be very helpful;
Level Your RV