PDA

View Full Version : Battery Disconnect When Connected to 50 Amp Shore Power

Scott Whitney
05-26-2013, 03:06 PM
Question: I store my Newell in a shop and always plugged into 50 amp service. Sometimes I keep the thermostat set for the ac just to control the climate inside the mh. Should I enable the battery disconnect between the chassis and motor batteries during the time it's in the shop? Please advise and explain so I may understand...(I'm not an electrician) Thanks in advance!

Scott

Newell Attack
05-26-2013, 09:22 PM
We keep ours plugged in all the time. Anyway, keeping your batteries charged is a good thing.

Jeff

Chester B. Stone, Jr.
05-26-2013, 10:48 PM
I agree with Jeff, keep the batteries connected.

77newell
05-27-2013, 05:03 PM
Batteries have an internal natural discharge rate. If you leave any battery isolated long enough it will discharge to the point of losing the ability to recharge to the rated capacity. It takes a rather long time for a new battery to do this but as batteries age this time tends to shorten. You could choose to connect the batteries once a week or every two weeks for a day, but that is a bother when the energy savings are so small I doubt you could find them on your electric bill.

everything I know just ain't so

lbrachfe
05-27-2013, 09:41 PM
leave them on and let the invertor/charger manage them for you

NewellCrazy
05-28-2013, 01:47 AM
Batteries have an internal natural discharge rate. If you leave any battery isolated long enough it will discharge to the point of losing the ability to recharge to the rated capacity. It takes a rather long time for a new battery to do this but as batteries age this time tends to shorten. You could choose to connect the batteries once a week or every two weeks for a day, but that is a bother when the energy savings are so small I doubt you could find them on your electric bill.

everything I know just ain't so

77Newell,