PDA

View Full Version : Tools you take on the road

Pascao
06-13-2013, 04:35 PM
What would you experienced neweller's consider to be the minimum in TOOLS you take on the road with you for maintenance and repair?

prairieschooner
06-13-2013, 05:14 PM
This would most likely depend on the year of your coach.
Being a mechanic I carry more than most but I would suggest a small mechanics tool box, a multimeter with amp, at least minimal plumbing tools, a drill and a small grinder.

prairieschooner
06-13-2013, 05:15 PM
This would most likely depend on the year of your coach.
Being a mechanic I carry more than most but I would suggest a small mechanics tool box with electrical crimping pliers and wire stripper, a multimeter with amp, at least minimal plumbing tools, a drill and a small grinder.
PS the bay behind the front wheel on the curb side is a tool box on our '82.

NewellCrazy
06-13-2013, 05:27 PM
Cell phone, computer, road service card, credit card and cash top the list. A set of combination wrenches, socket set, screw drivers, hammer, pry bar, pliers, WD40, VOM meter, IR temperature gun, and grease gun.

Chester B. Stone, Jr.
06-13-2013, 09:51 PM
Pascao, I carry too many tools to list, but one I would like to suggest is Whisper Ultrasonic Leak Detector to detect air leaks. In addition, I carry a battery load tester and a long set of battery cables.

rellick
06-13-2013, 10:36 PM
These aren't really a tool, more of an accessory, but makes it real easy to check your tires. Green if their good and red if their low.

cdat
06-14-2013, 12:31 AM
I think all of these are good suggestions, although I have a few additions, and maybe a question or two. I would add a pop rivet gun and some pop rivets and a cordless drill and bits.
For us non-electricians, any suggestions on a book or guide on using a multimeter?
John

folivier
06-14-2013, 01:05 AM