PDA

View Full Version : broke down need help


Yachts
11-23-2013, 12:03 AM
my series 60 engine display shows i have 0 oilpressure and is shutting down the engine. my analog dash gague shows it is fine.. but the ddec wont let me drive more than a few hundred yards. before it shuts down.. doesnt the shutdown overide suppose to let me drive? any ideas is helpful.. im guessing opil pressure sensor is bad. Newell thinks its ok anyone have any ideas?

77newell
11-23-2013, 01:11 AM
That's an incredible bummer. Newell's answer only makes sense if both the gauge and the engine ECM use the same sensor. I would want Newell to tell me that is the case. If so, then the wire from the sensor to the ECM is open somewhere. The most likely candidates would be near or at the sensor or any place there is a splice. Once you know the color coding on the wire it's a matter of tracing the wire.

I'm curious how a single sensor providing two outputs works so if you talk with Newell about this please fill us in on what they have to say.

Yachts
11-23-2013, 05:21 AM
You have two oil pressure sensors on your coach. One is mechanical and runs to the analog gauge on the dash. The other one is digital runs to the DDec system on the series 60. My ddec oil pressure sensor had gone bad.. The ddec system would not let the coach Run and the an automatic shutdown every half a mile for zero oil pressure. I got it to run about a half mile before it would shut down and coast a half mile.. Then restart and do it again.. Limped to a diesel shop. They replaced sensor in 5 mins.. 60$ part.. Exactly what Newell diagnosed on the 24hour tech support:)

77newell
11-23-2013, 01:12 PM
I'm so glad you are back running again, thank heaven for Newell's 24/7 tech support. I'm also glad to know there are two sensors. Travel well.

Yachts
11-23-2013, 01:34 PM
Wish there was a way to override the ddec system for cases like this.

folivier
11-23-2013, 03:31 PM
That's what the 30 second switch is for. Glad you got her fixed!One of the guys on wanderlodgeownersgroup said he was able to jump the wires on the sensor so it didn't alarm the DDEC until he got it replaced. Unfortunately he didn't remember the details.

Dmatz
11-23-2013, 03:46 PM
The same thing can happen with I believe 4 sensors in total. Oil, pressure, oil level, coolant temperature coolant level. Not %100 on those. When I had the Prevosts I carried these for just the chance I had an issue that I had the simple part with me. Glad you got going. I think all 4 cost $300 from Detroit dealer.

rellick
11-23-2013, 05:06 PM
Glad to hear you got it fixed Marc, its not a good feeling when your oil pressure guages are failing, all you wonder is if the engine is piling up.:huh::ahhhhh:
You can take the wire off the senser and connect it to ground to by pass it. If there is an issue with the engine, the shutdown can help from doing further damage.

Yachts
11-24-2013, 01:56 PM
Got down to 15 degrees last night.. Everything is nice and toasty warm.. Loving it

afrench45
11-24-2013, 05:22 PM
Marc where are you, going to beat the snow home? Roads are slick now in okc and still sleeting.

Yachts
11-24-2013, 08:08 PM
We are in Colorado Springs. Going to spend next few nights at the broadmoor hotel starting tomorrow. Gonna ask if they will give me a 50 amp plug so I can keep coach warm while we stay there . If not i
l leave it at a campground for 3 days.. We are coming home thanksgiving afternoon. May come thru okc.